DPChallenge: A Digital Photography Contest You are not logged in. (log in or register
 

DPChallenge Forums >> Hardware and Software >> Ahhhh! Help!
Pages:  
Showing posts 1 - 12 of 12, (reverse)
AuthorThread
10/18/2010 10:39:59 AM · #1
I am still using Photoshop Elements 3.0. We went on a cuise recently and I uploaded my photos (that I took with my Canon S90 instead of my Canon 20D this time). I also saved (from Facebook) some photos that some friends took during the cruise. I just looked on the computer under My Documents - My photos - the file they are saved under. Suddenly, all of the photos that I had saved of the pictures that our friends took are duplicating themselves over and over again! I didn't tell it to do that, needless to say. I've had that happen before a long time ago with pictures that I had taken and loaded the normal way in PS. (& still don't know why it did it then either). I have files that say "copy30of.... I can't delete them fast enough, they keep coming. Why do I keep getting copies of the originals and copies of copies of copies.....? How do I make it STOP doing that!?

PS I have to go to work now, but I will check back later.

Message edited by author 2010-10-18 10:40:45.
10/18/2010 10:45:13 AM · #2
Sounds like the computer is importing the images again everytime you connect the camera. Sometimes these apps second guess you and do things you don't want because they are trying to make it "easy". I'd suggest using a card reader and manually copying the files to the computer. By using a card reader you will also avoid this problem if you should use one of them as a challenge entry.

Just reread your post and realized the issues are with the ones downloaded from facebook. I have no idea. How did you download them?

Message edited by author 2010-10-18 10:46:27.
10/18/2010 11:12:28 AM · #3
I used a card reader for downloading mine. For the ones from Facebook, I just did right click, save picture as....
I wasn't connecting the camera. I had gone in and edited two of the photos. I saved them like I normally do. Then I got out of the PS Elements progam and went into the computer files directly by My documents, My Pictures, then where I have them saved, etc. I went in there to email a couple of them. That's when I noticed what it was doing.

Message edited by author 2010-10-18 11:13:45.
10/18/2010 11:15:03 AM · #4
The only thing I can think of is that you may have selected them and then accidentally dragged and dropped them within the same folder. That would create extras with the word "copyxx" appended to them.
10/18/2010 12:20:22 PM · #5
Originally posted by Yo_Spiff:

The only thing I can think of is that you may have selected them and then accidentally dragged and dropped them within the same folder. That would create extras with the word "copyxx" appended to them.


Agreed, I've seen this happen many times...
10/18/2010 12:23:01 PM · #6
Originally posted by coryboehne:

Agreed, I've seen this happen many times...

I've done it many times. Darn that finicky mouse button.
10/18/2010 03:35:33 PM · #7
I don't think I did that though. I edited two photos in Elements, then saved them and got out of the program. Then, I clicked on the My documents, My pictures, etc. I'm wondering if I have a virus or something.
10/18/2010 03:40:03 PM · #8
It's possible, but not likely, IMO. These days, malware is big business and the creators of such things want you to be blissfully unaware that their wares are working in the background sending spam and partaking in denial of service attacks.

I don't know what else could create the dupes for you though, other than copying them into the same folder.
10/18/2010 06:42:29 PM · #9
I don't either. It was even making new copies as I was trying to delete them.
10/18/2010 07:00:06 PM · #10
Here's my guess... it was set to import photos both from and to the same folder, so every time it created one, it saw it as a new photo to import.
10/18/2010 08:29:22 PM · #11
Originally posted by kirbic:

Here's my guess... it was set to import photos both from and to the same folder, so every time it created one, it saw it as a new photo to import.

Yeah, sounded like some sort of loop was created -- this seems a likely possibility.
10/18/2010 09:47:14 PM · #12
Originally posted by GeneralE:

Originally posted by kirbic:

Here's my guess... it was set to import photos both from and to the same folder, so every time it created one, it saw it as a new photo to import.

Yeah, sounded like some sort of loop was created -- this seems a likely possibility.


If that's the case, how was it created? Or are you talking about a virus doing it?
Pages:  
Current Server Time: 11/30/2020 04:19:59 PM

Please log in or register to post to the forums.


Home - Challenges - Community - League - Photos - Cameras - Lenses - Learn - Prints! - Help - Terms of Use - Privacy - Top ^
DPChallenge, and website content and design, Copyright © 2001-2020 Challenging Technologies, LLC.
All digital photo copyrights belong to the photographers and may not be used without permission.
Proudly hosted by Sargasso Networks. Current Server Time: 11/30/2020 04:19:59 PM EST.