DPChallenge: A Digital Photography Contest You are not logged in. (log in or register
 

DPChallenge Forums >> Current Challenge >> Break the Rules = Hidden Gem?
Pages:  
Showing posts 1 - 25 of 50, (reverse)
AuthorThread
02/02/2016 01:39:52 PM · #1
So the challenge description says "Break any ONE of the Advanced Editing rules", does this mean we can break the rule that "Your submission must be ... taken after the challenge is announced and before the deadline, based on the Current Server Time (US Eastern Standard/Daylight Time) displayed at the bottom of every page on this site."? Assuming of course, we still have the original and otherwise comply with the Advanced Rule set ...

(I was tempted to ask whether it meant we could submit more than one entry as well .. but I don't think the system will allow that and, even if it did, I have no sue for two more 5.x (or 4.x) anyway!)

:-)
02/02/2016 01:50:42 PM · #2
I am going to say NO as it says "Break one of the advanced editing rules." The requirement of being taken during the challenge period is not based on the editing rule set of the challenge. It is a requirement placed on all challenge unless it is one of those best of year or hidden gems that pop up every once in awhile.
02/02/2016 02:45:55 PM · #3
Actually, the rule IS in Requirements listed in the advanced rule editing set which is why it is confusing as to which of the rules we can break. One of the reasons I asked was that in the last Break the Rules challenge there was one DQ, and the explanation for that was that the entry violated four rules instead of one, and one of the four was that it was taken outside of the time frame for the challenge ... the implication being that if that the other 3 had not been violated, that entry would have been allowed to stand.

Waiting for Bear or another SC member to chime in ...
02/02/2016 02:48:11 PM · #4
Yeah I debated trying that as well. The other rule could be using the same image twice (from another challenge in the past). Although that would likely break 2 rules ;)
02/02/2016 02:54:29 PM · #5
Who's been reading my PM's?!?! Tate, you're practically quoting from it. BTW, you can't submit from an old challenge, but you could submit your HDR or WALL entry twice. :)

Message edited by author 2016-02-02 14:56:51.
02/02/2016 02:59:02 PM · #6
Out-of-time-frame images will be allowed. If we ever do this again, we'll be a little more specific about "editing rules ONLY".

Break other blanket rules at your own risk: there's often a cascade of rule-breaking involved, as pointed out by Tate. And be reasonable, people: don't expect us to validate images without valid EXIF, because we won't. Nor will we relax our standards on the "genitalia clause". I'm sure there are other bedrock principles we might not exempt, but frankly we'll worry about that when and if someone pushes that hard.

This challenge wasn't meant to be a free-for-all melee. It was meant to encourage y'all to have a little fun with the EDITING rules.

Regarding "The explanation for that (DQ) was that the entry violated four rules instead of one, and one of the four was that it was taken outside of the time frame for the challenge ... the implication being that if that the other 3 had not been violated, that entry would have been allowed to stand.", that's not a valid implication. As a matter of procedure, we only ever list one reason for a DQ, even though it's not that unusual for there to be several.
02/02/2016 03:01:07 PM · #7
Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

... you could submit your HDR or WALL entry twice. :)

I don't think we'll allow that either, though this is just my opinion at this point. Why are we working so hard to find ways to game the system here, people? Just play nice!
02/02/2016 03:04:37 PM · #8
This is one of those times that I wished the challenge description was a little more direct in what is/not allowed. When I read it I thought editing rules as in how you processed the photo and not when it was taken or if you used the Wall or HDR entry a 2nd time.
02/02/2016 03:11:29 PM · #9
Originally posted by Kobba:

This is one of those times that I wished the challenge description was a little more direct in what is/not allowed. When I read it I thought editing rules as in how you processed the photo and not when it was taken or if you used the Wall or HDR entry a 2nd time.

That's what it would be had it been more carefully written, but once posted we have to go with the wording we have.
02/02/2016 03:52:51 PM · #10
Originally posted by Bear_Music:

Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

... you could submit your HDR or WALL entry twice. :)

I don't think we'll allow that either, though this is just my opinion at this point. Why are we working so hard to find ways to game the system here, people? Just play nice!


I'm not working hard, that's just the way my brain is wired. ;)

I wasn't planning on it, but if I were to submit a color version of my B&W HDR that was taken in the same challenge period, or a slightly different edit, provided everything else is kosher the only rule I'm actually breaking would be "using the image in more than one challenge". But to be clear you're saying that's the unbreakable rule in the break the rule challenge?

Message edited by author 2016-02-02 15:53:17.
02/02/2016 04:15:44 PM · #11
Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

Originally posted by Bear_Music:

Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

... you could submit your HDR or WALL entry twice. :)

I don't think we'll allow that either, though this is just my opinion at this point. Why are we working so hard to find ways to game the system here, people? Just play nice!


I'm not working hard, that's just the way my brain is wired. ;)

I wasn't planning on it, but if I were to submit a color version of my B&W HDR that was taken in the same challenge period, or a slightly different edit, provided everything else is kosher the only rule I'm actually breaking would be "using the image in more than one challenge". But to be clear you're saying that's the unbreakable rule in the break the rule challenge?


As I see it, it might conceivably be legal for the "break the rules" challenge, but would lead to a DQ in whatever other challenge the photo was entered.
02/02/2016 04:17:39 PM · #12
Originally posted by GinaRothfels:

Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

Originally posted by Bear_Music:

Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

... you could submit your HDR or WALL entry twice. :)

I don't think we'll allow that either, though this is just my opinion at this point. Why are we working so hard to find ways to game the system here, people? Just play nice!


I'm not working hard, that's just the way my brain is wired. ;)

I wasn't planning on it, but if I were to submit a color version of my B&W HDR that was taken in the same challenge period, or a slightly different edit, provided everything else is kosher the only rule I'm actually breaking would be "using the image in more than one challenge". But to be clear you're saying that's the unbreakable rule in the break the rule challenge?


As I see it, it might conceivably be legal for the "break the rules" challenge, but would lead to a DQ in whatever other challenge the photo was entered.

BINGO!
02/02/2016 05:08:18 PM · #13
Originally posted by Bear_Music:

Originally posted by GinaRothfels:

Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

Originally posted by Bear_Music:

Originally posted by backdoorhippie:

... you could submit your HDR or WALL entry twice. :)

I don't think we'll allow that either, though this is just my opinion at this point. Why are we working so hard to find ways to game the system here, people? Just play nice!


I'm not working hard, that's just the way my brain is wired. ;)

I wasn't planning on it, but if I were to submit a color version of my B&W HDR that was taken in the same challenge period, or a slightly different edit, provided everything else is kosher the only rule I'm actually breaking would be "using the image in more than one challenge". But to be clear you're saying that's the unbreakable rule in the break the rule challenge?


As I see it, it might conceivably be legal for the "break the rules" challenge, but would lead to a DQ in whatever other challenge the photo was entered.

BINGO!


Even if the photo in the other challenge was submitted first? That makes no sense since when the photo was entered it is perfectly within the bounds of the rules. The "break" occurs only for the second photo when it is submitted.
02/02/2016 05:35:55 PM · #14
Originally posted by Bear_Music:

... Nor will we relax our standards on the "genitalia clause".

Aaiieeee. Close the chimney flue and don't put out cookies and milk!
02/02/2016 06:05:56 PM · #15
my god, there are standards for that?
02/02/2016 06:08:25 PM · #16
It could get pretty meta and possibly make the universe explode if there was an additional rule saying: "any images that do not break the rules will be disqualified." Think about it for a second :-)

Message edited by author 2016-02-02 18:09:12.
02/02/2016 07:40:50 PM · #17
Originally posted by skewsme:

Originally posted by Bear_Music:

... Nor will we relax our standards on the "genitalia clause".

Aaiieeee. Close the chimney flue and don't put out cookies and milk!


Aw dang. Have to reshoot. :-(
02/02/2016 08:01:07 PM · #18
So glad you all are thinking and asking the exact questions that are in my mind! I think I have some clarity now.

Bear_Music really summed it up well: just play nice!
02/02/2016 08:26:43 PM · #19
Originally posted by Catherine_B:

So glad you all are thinking and asking the exact questions that are in my mind! I think I have some clarity now.

Bear_Music really summed it up well: just play nice!


Awww... What fun is that?
02/02/2016 11:10:28 PM · #20
Originally posted by vawendy:

Awww... What fun is that?

It's MUCH more fun for SC when you do, trust me :-)
02/03/2016 01:40:03 PM · #21
Originally posted by Bear_Music:

Originally posted by vawendy:

Awww... What fun is that?

It's MUCH more fun for SC when you do, trust me :-)


Sits back in his blue shirt and smiles... ;-)

Sits back in his blue shirt while watching whales from his balcony in Maui, and smiles...:-)

Message edited by author 2016-02-03 13:42:00.
02/03/2016 08:42:53 PM · #22
Originally posted by kirbic:

Sits back in his blue shirt while watching whales from his balcony in Maui, and smiles...:-)

There are voodoo dolls for that.
02/03/2016 10:53:11 PM · #23
*Lydia steps out of this one*

WAY too many ways to screw up and get a DQ.

And genitalia did not even enter in to it...

*cringe now that she thinks about it all*

Y'all have fun!

Place nicely!

02/03/2016 10:56:39 PM · #24
Originally posted by Lydia:

*Lydia steps out of this one*

WAY too many ways to screw up and get a DQ.

You could just take your normal shot and add the title (type) ... no risk that way.
02/04/2016 12:36:37 AM · #25
Surely it's no harder to break only one rule than to break the usual none?
Pages:  
Current Server Time: 06/22/2021 07:53:33 AM

Please log in or register to post to the forums.


Home - Challenges - Community - League - Photos - Cameras - Lenses - Learn - Prints! - Help - Terms of Use - Privacy - Top ^
DPChallenge, and website content and design, Copyright © 2001-2021 Challenging Technologies, LLC.
All digital photo copyrights belong to the photographers and may not be used without permission.
Proudly hosted by Sargasso Networks. Current Server Time: 06/22/2021 07:53:33 AM EDT.