DPChallenge: A Digital Photography Contest You are not logged in. (log in or register

DPChallenge Forums >> Photography Discussion >> Spider Awards
Showing posts 1 - 25 of 55, (reverse)
05/29/2006 09:22:35 PM · #1
Hi guys

I just got this email for the Spider Awards


Dear Fellow Photographer,

Only 3 days left to enter the Black and White Spider Awards - submissions will be accepted until midnight May 31st.

Don't miss the opportunity to put your work in front of the world's leading luminaries from the international photography community, including Magnum Photos, VII Photo Agency, Tate Gallery, Communication Arts, PDN, Photolife Magazine, ACMP and Leica Photo Gallery.

101 Spider Awards will be Presented to Nominees in 25 categories
As a winner you will receive:
Recognition of excellence from a panel of internationally renowned judges
Your work published in book|BASIL, the photographic art book
Your work exhibited at the World Photographic Arts Charity Exhibition
Your portfolio exhibited at the Spider Awards Gallery
One day studio rental in New York photography studio
A chance to win the ILFORD Creative Excellence Prize
Your work published in the 2007 Calendar Collection
International press and exposure

Black and White Spider Awards is open to photographers worldwide shooting in all forms of black and white photography using traditional or digital methods. Enter online or by mail at //www.thespiderawards.com/HowTo.htm.

Participate in the world's premier black and white photographic showcase at Black and White Spider Awards. Send in your best work now!

Good luck and best wishes,

Basil O'Brien
Creative Director

Black and White Spider Awards


Is this a scam?

Thx for your input! :-)
05/29/2006 09:26:11 PM · #2
I just got it too! Never heard of it....must be needing entries or something but if so why wait to 3 days, or less, before the deadline?
05/29/2006 09:28:01 PM · #3
Scam...They will then charge you mucho $$$ for your book...
05/29/2006 09:28:30 PM · #4
hehe...i just received one now! I thought I was special! ;)
05/29/2006 09:32:58 PM · #5
Originally posted by doctornick:

Scam...They will then charge you mucho $$$ for your book...
More like they will charge you mucho $$$ to even

$35 | 30 | £25

AMATEUR ENTRY (single image)
$30 | 25 | £20


Pay only $20 | 18 | £15 to enter each additional image

Pay only $5 | 4 | £3 to enter an image into an additional category

These collection specials offer a discount to photographers and studios submitting multiple entries (each image is a separate entry and will be judged individually).

Collection 5

Professional: Submit 5 images for only $95 | 85 | £70 with this collection special

Amateur: Submit 5 images for only $90 | 80 | £65 with this collection special

Collection 10

Professional: Submit 10 images for only $175 | 155 | £130 with this collection special

Amateur: Submit 10 images for only $170 | 150 | £125 with this collection special

Message edited by author 2006-05-29 21:33:56.
05/29/2006 09:44:53 PM · #6
i got one too
05/29/2006 09:56:35 PM · #7
One thing that I noticed is that all who said that they received this ‘offer’ either have their email listed in their profile or on their website.

I’ll grant this is not a conclusive explanation as to how you got the offer, but simply an attempt. ;)
05/29/2006 09:58:55 PM · #8
Almost certainly SPAM ... see the results of my spam filter ...

From: newsletter@thespiderawards.com [mailto:newsletter@thespiderawards.com]
Sent: Monday, May 29, 2006 6:22 PM
To: {snip my email address}
Subject: Black & White Spider Awards | Closing Call for Entries - May 31st

Spam detection software, running on the system "peterman.networkeleven.net", has
identified this incoming email as possible spam. The original message
has been attached to this so you can view it (if it isn't spam) or label
similar future email. If you have any questions, see
the administrator of that system for details.

Content preview: BLACK AND WHITE SPIDER AWARDS "Judged by the most
respected names in photography" //www.thespiderawards.com [...]

Content analysis details: (6.7 points, 5.0 required)

pts rule name description
---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------
1.0 NO_REAL_NAME From: does not include a real name
1.1 MIME_HTML_MOSTLY BODY: Multipart message mostly text/html MIME
0.0 HTML_MESSAGE BODY: HTML included in message
3.5 BAYES_99 BODY: Bayesian spam probability is 99 to 100%
[score: 0.9974]
0.2 HTML_TITLE_EMPTY BODY: HTML title contains no text
0.9 FRONTPAGE RAW: Frontpage used to create the message

The original message was not completely plain text, and may be unsafe to
open with some email clients; in particular, it may contain a virus,
or confirm that your address can receive spam. If you wish to view
it, it may be safer to save it to a file and open it with an editor.

Message edited by author 2006-05-29 22:00:41.
05/29/2006 10:01:16 PM · #9
I got one too... ugh
05/29/2006 10:02:42 PM · #10
I got one too - so it must be a scam:))
05/29/2006 10:09:16 PM · #11
I got it as well... I wonder if whomever it was has an account with dpc and used the email list somehow.
05/29/2006 10:12:07 PM · #12
I must really suck...I didn't get one. I'm going to run away and eat worms now. ' . substr('//backup.hawkins.nu/gtchat/images/smiley4.gif', strrpos('//backup.hawkins.nu/gtchat/images/smiley4.gif', '/') + 1) . '
05/29/2006 10:16:51 PM · #13
I've been getting them for months :(
05/29/2006 10:17:17 PM · #14
got it and deleted it.
05/29/2006 10:24:07 PM · #15
here is a link to the winning amateur photos for 2005... Shelia Smart (1st place)is from Sydney and a member of another photo forum I'm on and hasn't said anything bad about them
they seem to be legit to me
and the judges seem to come from respected galleries (use your mouse to highlight the blue writing so you can read it)


Message edited by author 2006-05-29 22:29:36.
05/29/2006 10:29:50 PM · #16
I just got one as I went to click on the thread. Weird.
05/29/2006 10:30:38 PM · #17
Originally posted by laurielblack:

I must really suck...I didn't get one. I'm going to run away and eat worms now. ' . substr('//backup.hawkins.nu/gtchat/images/smiley4.gif', strrpos('//backup.hawkins.nu/gtchat/images/smiley4.gif', '/') + 1) . '

Careful, the first one kind of pokes.
05/29/2006 10:39:48 PM · #18
Got it too......LOL
05/29/2006 10:44:19 PM · #19
just got one too
05/29/2006 10:45:24 PM · #20
here too.
05/29/2006 10:56:46 PM · #21
As did I...deleted

At 30 bucks a pop to enter, if they can cause mass panic and a bunch of people enter their three day rush job images, they can get rich quickly and the winners won't need to pay for a book.
05/29/2006 11:37:06 PM · #22
I have been receiving this for the last few years, but I signed up. They have an online award show, too. Not a scam like Pictures.com. It is legit. But I did receive that email also just today. Even though I have been getting updates weekly anyway.

Spam yes, scam no

Message edited by author 2006-05-29 23:45:24.
05/29/2006 11:48:57 PM · #23
I just got it too...
05/29/2006 11:50:19 PM · #24
Originally posted by stare_at_the_sun:

I just got it too...

yup me 3
05/30/2006 12:03:24 AM · #25
i just got this aswell..?
Current Server Time: 07/25/2021 10:58:09 AM

Please log in or register to post to the forums.

Home - Challenges - Community - League - Photos - Cameras - Lenses - Learn - Prints! - Help - Terms of Use - Privacy - Top ^
DPChallenge, and website content and design, Copyright © 2001-2021 Challenging Technologies, LLC.
All digital photo copyrights belong to the photographers and may not be used without permission.
Proudly hosted by Sargasso Networks. Current Server Time: 07/25/2021 10:58:09 AM EDT.